Who We Are

GEGR Economic Council

Launched in April 2019, the Greater East Grand Region (GEGR) economic planning initiative was designed from the beginning to be a citizen-led effort. The GEGR Economic Council (GEGEC), founded in 2021, promotes actions to unify people, communities and organizations in order to support each other’s needs, efforts and successes across the region.  The Board of Director’s vision is to create a sustainable, collaborative and trustworthy intermediary organization to guide and coordinate economic development by supporting entrepreneurship, business succession, workforce development, and recreational stewardship. Current 2021 leadership includes:

Board of Directors

Wayne Smith, President
Ardis Brown, Vice-President
Felicia Cowger, Treasurer
Dwayne Young, Secretary
Kelsey Daoust, Board member

Fiscal Sponsor
Charles Rudelitch, Sunrise County Economic Council

Consulting Director
Sarah Strickland, Strategic Wisdom Partners


Elbridge Cleaves, Citizens Organization for Rural Education

Jon McLaughlin, Southern Aroostook Development Corp

Jackie Morse, Machias Savings Bank

Denise Smith, Greater East Grand Lake Chamber of Commerce

Peggy White, East Grand School


Since 2019, economic development planning and current priorities have been supported through foundation grants, municipalities, donors and many in-kind volunteer hours.

Capacity Building
Sewall Foundation
Maine Community Foundation
The Conservation Fund
Machias Savings Bank
Lakeville Shores, Inc.
Baskahegan Company

GEGR Broadband Initiative
ConnectMaine Authority
Maine Community Foundation
Washington County TIF
Town of Danforth
Town of Weston
Reed Plantation

Youth & Young Adult Initiative
East Grand School
Rural Aspirations
Citizens’ Organization for Rural Education
Maine Community Foundation
David Snow family
John Manganello family

Recreational & Land Stewardship
The Conservation Fund
Stetson Fund
Baskahegan Company